Each site in your fleet is billed according to your subscription billing plan(s) as agreed with Outpost Central prior to the purchase of the logger.
Subscription Plans Billed in Advance
If your subscription plan is bill in advance, regardless of the site status, the site will be billed for renewals when the subscription period comes up for renewal.
Subscription Plans Billed in Arrears
If your subscription plan is billed in arrears based on logger and/or site activity, then the following will apply. This is typically monthly plans billed when logger and/or site is active for any one day within a billing period.
The site status may affect whether a site is billed or not (see Understanding Site Status for more details of site status):
- Activated or Deactivated
- Installed, Not Installed or Expired
- Online or Offline
When you first receive an Outpost logger, it will be in a Deactivated and Not Installed state. Follow the Activating and Deactivating your Outpost procedure to activate/deactivate your Outpost.
Once it is Activated, you will be billed for the site while the logger is online. Deactivate the logger to ensure you're not billed for the site. Installed, Not Installed or Expired settings do not control billing.